Blog-tember Day 23 | A Family Recipe | Mama’s Chocolate Cake (& printable!)

One of the sweetest gifts I’ve ever received is a cookbook. Not just any old cookbook to help me develop my skills in the kitchen. This cookbook was filled with handwritten family recipes from my mom (who wrote recipes from my grandmother as well), dad, and all of my aunts.

All of our holiday favorites and family traditions were there in their handwriting.

img_8261

I’ve since added my own favorites to it, and it’s such a handy little manual. It’s so much easier than searching through Pinterest boards, or e-mails where I’ve asked my mom how she made such and such, and it’s not dependent on internet access.

Mama’s Chocolate Sheet Cakeimg_8255

Today I’ll share with you my grandmothers chocolate sheet cake. I’m sure there’s nothing special about this particular sheet cake except that it’s the one she always made.

It’s so simple, and feeds SO many. Also you pour the frosting on top while the cake is hot, so there’s no waiting for it cool and no messy frosting jobs!

(Full Recipe Below)

img_8220

Place sugar, flour and salt in a mixing bowl and mix together.

In a small saucepan place the butter, water, vanilla, and cocoa. Bring to a boil and then pour over the flour mixture and mix well.

In a small bowl mix eggs, then add baking soda, and buttermilk.

(Expat baking tip: Don’t have buttermilk? Just add a splash of lemon juice or vinegar to regular milk!)

Combine the egg mixture with the rest of the batter and mix well. Pour into a greased and floured cookie sheet. Bake.

(Note: I made a half batch and made it in a 11 x 7 casserole dish. You can make a full batch and bake in in a 9×13 pan for a thicker cake or in a larger cookie sheet or jelly roll pan for a larger cake.)

Now, while the cake is in the oven, do yourself a favor and clean up the kitchen, it won’t take long, and you’ll be able to enjoy the cake more if your dishes are all done! πŸ™‚

When the cake comes out of the oven, combine all of the icing ingredients in a small saucepan and heat them over low heat, then pour the icing over the cake about 10 minutes after it comes out.

Let the icing cool for about 30 minutes, and then you’re good to go! incredibly moist, ridiculously easy, sure to please, chocolate cake!

img_8256

mamas-cakemamas-cake-instructions

Let me know what you think if you try it! I dare you to just eat one piece πŸ™‚


I’m joining Baily Jean in the 2016 Blog-tember challenge, you can too!

blogtember2016

2 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 23 | A Family Recipe | Mama’s Chocolate Cake (& printable!)

  1. Okay first of all your mom and my mom should be friends! My mom also hand-wrote recipes into a cookbook for me. It makes me want to weep for how special it is. Secondly that chocolate sheet cake looks AMAZING. I am a huge chocolate fan and am always craving it. This looks so yummy. Thanks for sharing oxoxo

Leave a Reply

