Blog-tember Day 20 | I wish everyone knew…

Day 20: Something I wish more peopleΒ  knew or believed.

I wish that people believed….

singleness is not a bad thing, it’s a high calling.

childlessness (even if by choice) is OK, and you should stop asking people why they don’t have kids or when they’re going to start having them. #RUDE

sex within marriage is meant to be enjoyed, and you shouldn’t talk about it like it’s a chore. If you think it’s a chore then you’re missing out.

the world doesn’t operate in black and white or good and bad. Just because someone disagrees with you doesn’t make them wrong. We’re all doing the best we can with the information and the convictions given to us. What’s right for me may not be right for you. AND THAT’S OK!

overseas life isn’t one big,sparkling, fun, adventure. It’s a calling. It’s hard. It’s full of missed moments and great sacrifice. So when you talk to me like I’m happy to run away from my family, live frivolously by traveling to nearby countries using my vacation days, or to choose not to be there for birthdays, weddings, newborns, and the likes…that’s offensive and cheapens the sacrifice we make and the work that we do.

my identity is not as a mom. I am first and foremost a Child of God…and after that so many other things. When we address people who happen to have children as “mama” before we address each other by name, we’re simplifying each other down to way less than the diverse people we actually are.

you don’t have to do a Whole 30 to be healthy. Just start making healthier choices every day. Don’t exclude yourself from community (and pizza!…and cake!!!) for the sake of lording your discipline in eating over other people. “Break bread in your homes and eat it together with glad and sincere hearts”

Jesus would not have been a republican. I’ll just leave that there.

LGBTQ people are not going to hurt you or your children. Talking to them and about them like they are is not going to give you any influence in their lives, and will lead you to miss out on great friendships with wonderful people.

goldendoodles are awesome. Having dogs IS like having children in that you have your own parenting style, which yields differently behaved dogs. And while I think my style is the best…I realize that it might not be the best for you. (But seriously it could be… πŸ˜‰ )

7-11 has the best coffee…especially when you mix half vanilla bean coffee with half vanilla cappuccino…oh yummmm

and finally, last but not least, for now on this list…

cream cheese icing is the best icing. Making red velvet cake, carrot cake, and pumpkin cake the best cakes because they are perfect vehicles for cream cheese frosting. πŸ™‚


I’m joining Baily Jean in the 2016 Blog-tember challenge, you can too!

blogtember2016

10 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 20 | I wish everyone knew…

  1. Hmm… I may have to argue with you about 7-11 coffee. Haha But honestly their cappuccinos/lattes from that machine are so yummy! Especially the Pumpkin one! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and so much truth!

    • Haha but it’s so good! My sisters and I grew up on that coffee, taking sips of our great aunt’s that she got every morning at the 7-11 by her house. I think I love it partially for nostalgia’s sake. But also because it’s so good…which I mean, of course the fake processed sugary powdered substance is amazing 😜

  2. These were SO fun! And I love that you said Jesus wouldn’t be a republican. It was too good. AND I loved that you brought up Whole 30 and you don’t need it to be healthy. Actually I loved your whole list (I really wish people would be okay with childlessness…there is so much pressure!)

  3. Oh I LOVE goldendoodles. I follow like three instagram accounts of them. πŸ™‚ I agree with pretty much everything, except the icing. #buttercreamforever

    • Haha my husband would be with you on the buttercream! He asks every year for his birthday for a funfetti cake with a can of “normal” frosting as he calls it (as opposed to cream cheese haha) and then eats the leftover icing from the jar. πŸ™‚

      And yes…our doodles are a part of the #goldendoodlesofinstagram phenomenon πŸ™‚ At first I didn’t want to overwhelm people with dog pictures..but usually the dog pictures got the most likes because they’re just too cute

Leave a Reply

