Blog-tember Day 16 | Self Care

Sabbathing, resting, and real self care are very dear to my heart. Self-care has been a big focus for me recently ever since I started battling burnout and Adrenal Fatigue last year (and probably long before that as well).

I’m a big advocate for taking the time to rest and recharge and be the best you you have to offer. If we don’t take time to do that and are always going, never stopping, we’re running ourselves ragged…and a beaten down fatigued us isn’t helpful to anyone.

So what are some of my favorite ways to practice that?

1.  Read the Right Materials

These books have been so impactful in my life. The Rest of God especially is on my “need to re-read once a year” list.

2. Slow Mornings

img_2055

After years and years of asking the question “what is life giving to me?” I finally figured out that slow mornings was one of the answers.

Even if it means getting up earlier than normal…I thrive when I have the mornings to myself to eat a good breakfast, drink some coffee, spend some time with the Lord, and listen to some worship music. That’s also the time when I like to do my hand lettering, journaling, scheduling, and if time allows, blogging.

3. Family Walks

img_4815

We ALL feel better when we get out and walk. Craig and I get time together without screens, the dogs get all their energy out, our bodies feel better from the endorphins and vitamin D…it’s just an all around win!

It’s hard here because we can’t really walk around our neighborhood (we live in a clustered neighborhood on the side of that mountain in front of Craig ) and we don’t have nice parks or lakes to walk around, so we have to walk into the city and it’s a real time investment. But, like I said, we’re all better off when it happens!

I also like walks because they help cover several of what I always call “the basics:”

4. “The Basics”

When you struggle with stress, burnout, or depression, a good counselor (or a sound Pinterest article) will tell you that these basic things will help, and they do!

  • Sleep

  • Sunshine

  • Drinking lots of water

  • Being on a schedule (go to bed and wake up at the same time every day)

  • Exercise

 

My list isn’t limited to just those things, I also like to be creative, host people, and make gifts for others (I think gift giving is my love language), among other things.

What about you? How do you practice self-care? Do you have any ideas for me to try?

Also, you should totally tune in tomorrow for Vlog day…I am pretty impressed with myself in the amount of forethought I have put into it! 🙂


I’m joining Baily Jean in the 2016 Blog-tember challenge, you can too!

blogtember2016

8 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 16 | Self Care

    • Yes! I definitely have to battle the urge to stay in bed sometimes, especially when we have an early morning, but I know in my brain that getting to do my morning routine will provide more rest and energy than a few extra minutes in bed actually will!

  1. LOVE these! I have The Rest of God on by TBR list and really want to get to it soon if its a book you want to reread every year! That says a lot! I loved The Gifts of Imperfection! I am unfamiliar with the other books but will look them up!

    Yes to those basics! Sleep and exercise are usually the first things that I slack on when I am stressed, so I need to be more intentional about them

  2. I need to try getting up early. I always think I want to get as much sleep as I can, but then I’m already stressed when I’m rushing out the door! I do love to take a daily walk at the end of each day. Will have to try some of these books!

Leave a Reply

