Blog-tember Day 13 | Through The Eyes of Another

If you could switch lives with someone for a day who would it be?

I wracked my brain trying to think of an answer to this question, and I couldn’t think of anything good.

I wanted it to be someone that would tell you something about me and my character. Someone interesting, someone cool.

But I couldn’t think of anyone.

So I wasn’t going to answer the question.

Then something happened this morning and I knew in an instant that Craig would roll his eyes and be frustrated with how I responded. He knows my character so well that He knew where the conversation was going to go and exactly how I was going to respond, before we even had a chance to get too far into the situation.

He knew me. He had my number, and He was right.

And I thought: “How interesting would it be to be able to see myself how someone else sees me and knows me?”

Ah ha! I would like to switch places with Craig for a day and see myself from his point of view.How he knows me, experiences me, loves me. I think that would be so eye-opening!

12-12-15-633

Craig and I together at my sister’s wedding last year.

I often say that I think when you take any personality test they should make your spouse/parent/friend take one for you as well. I know I’m often tempted to pick the answers that I wish describe me, or I think describe me, when in reality that’s not me at all.

To be seen through the eyes of another would be enlightening.

Perhaps in a positive way…would I be as critical of me as I usually am of myself (whoa, confusing sentence haha)? Probably not.

Perhaps in a helpful way…would I be able to see aspects of my character that would make me cringe? Probably.

Would I understand myself in a new way? Probably.

Even though I can’t actually switch places with Craig for the day, the exercise was impactful and left me thankful that God has given me a spouse, friends, and family who know me well and help teach me more about myself on a daily basis.


I’m joining Baily Jean in the 2016 Blog-tember challenge, you can too!

blogtember2016

10 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 13 | Through The Eyes of Another

    • I got it! 🙂 some of these platforms don’t work nicely with other platforms for comments!! Too funny, I thought I would be the only crazy one who picked my spouse 🙂 can’t wait to read your post!

  1. I love this!!! Now I need another post because I would totally love to be in my husband’s shoes for a day. It would certainly help with conflict to understand what he was thinking on the inside. And I agree! We should have all those close to us take personality tests for us. Mine are always so rigged because it’s hard to distinguish between how I want to be and who I really am. 😉

    • Oh but your post had such depth and realness to it…I just know someone needed to read that! (also, I feel the need to let you know that you’re one of the very few bloggers I kept following after blog-tember was over last year…so I like what you do 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

