Bloom where you’re planted?

“By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit [bloom!] and so prove to be my disciples.” – John 15:8

It’s an expression that’s been thrown around for a long time; “bloom where you’re planted.”

bloom

It’s a nice sentiment, but to be honest I would kind of roll my eyes when I heard it and throw it in the cheesy column.

But then today I was reading in Peter Scazzero’s Daily Office and the story was about Daniel. Daniel was taken from his home at a young age and sent to live with the heathen king in his heathen palace as he ruled over a heathen city. Do you get the idea? Lots of heathens, not a lot of Jesus.

Yet, he made decisions that set him apart, “he did not leave the development of his interior life to chance.” He abstained from the kings food and ate a plain diet, he devoted time to prayer and time with the Lord. He “somehow managed to feed himself spiritually, and he blossomed into an extraordinary man of God- despite the hostile environment.

Often I am quick to blame the country I live in, the lack of Christian people and resources, or even what people and resources I have as the source of my problems. “If only we had….If only we lived near…..etc. etc.”

I’m sure you have your things too. The if only’s, what if’s, or some day’s.

But, like Daniel, I don’t want to leave the nurturing of my spiritual life to chance.

The fact of the matter is that wherever I am and whatever I am surrounded with (or not surrounded with), I will always have the Father. And He has promised to be enough. He is constant, and He is present and enough.

How is He calling me to nurture my soul and my relationship with Him so that I can blossom wherever it is that He’s planted me?

“The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup” Psalm 16:5

 

What does that look like for you? What are your “if only’s?” What intentional moves towards Him is He asking you to take?

Leave a Reply

