What I Learned in October

Today I’m joining in with Emily P. Freeman’s “What we Learned in October” link up.

What I learned in October

I love her idea of taking time to reflect over the last thirty days before heading into the next.

We’re headed out to a Fall Retreat the lake in the woods with students this weekend, and I am very much looking forward to that.

Once we come back and October is actually finished I’m looking forward to sharing my What I Read in October with you as well as a re-cap of the Blondetober Instagram challenge. Fun stuff, friends!

Here’s a handful of things I learned this month:

1. I love the community and fun of the online Blog-osphere.

BlogosphereThanks to the kickstart from Bailey Jean’s Blog-tember challenge in September, I jumped back into the Christian women’s blogging circle, and I’m sucked in.

I have learned a lot and had so much fun interacting with new people.

I’ve…

…participated in and been featured in the Secret Blogger Club

…chatted it up in the (in)courage Simply Tuesday Book club and enjoyed the twitter parties and the facebook group discussions.

…been in on some live periscope chats to learn how to love my lettering

…been inspired by Natalie Creates to Dress in Happiness Daily ..

and it’s just been fun. I feel like it’s a whole new world out there and it’s fascinating to take it all in and almost surreal to see this whole other culture going on that is the creative women’s universe.

2. We are never going to be good at dishes.

Pumpkin Pie Mess

The kitchen is a wreck…but I have a pumpkin pie to show for it so it’s all good.

Y’all, for two people…we dirty a lot of dishes, and we cannot stay on top of them. We have tried every system under the sun; no going to bed with dirty dishes in the sink, do the dishes as you go, switch days of dish responsibility, etc.

Craig’s proposed solution is that we eat out for every meal. Which I would be all about but we just don’t have places we enjoy here in Mostar.

Save your judgement, but we even broke down this month and bought a bunch of paper products to see if that would help the problem.

Maybe one day we’ll be adult enough to handle it. I hope that moment comes before we add extra bodies and their dishes to the family.

3. God’s hand is in the hurt of my life too.

IMG_2050

This is like a “duh!” thing that we all know. But I really feel like God spoke something intimate to me in the story of Him touching Jacob’s hip when they wrestled and leaving him with a limp for the rest of his life.

I wrote more about it here so I won’t recount the whole thing for you.

4. Mini Spatulas are the best kitchen tool.

Birthday Cake

Not mini spatulas..but cake…which you can make with mini spatulas

I have five mini spatulas. If you’re judging me for owning five mini spatulas then you have obviously never used one. I realized every time I have a baking endeavor these all end up dirty somehow…cause they’re so stinkin’ cute and useful!

There you have it..the fun, the embarrassing, the deep, and the silly.

What have you learned in October?

12 thoughts on “What I Learned in October

  1. The handle broke off my mini spatula and I still use it! The dishes. I have a dishwasher so I try to load as soon as I dirty them up which works well for me. But then the big pots and pans hang around until I get to them because they don’t fit in the dishwasher. I think a farmhouse sink would fix that problem. πŸ˜‰

  2. Coming over from Emily’s link list and glad to read your October lessons. I really enjoy doing this practice each month and finding new sites like yours! Blessings!

  3. I’m bad at dishes too, so don’t feel too terrible. I feel like I’m often in the kitchen all the stinkin’ time. Maybe I need to have some kids so I can make them clean instead…(my mom always said that was the solution to her kitchen cleaning problems) πŸ˜› Or not. Hahaha!

    I think tomorrow (or Monday) I’ll post about what I’ve learned in October! I loved your post πŸ™‚

  4. I realized recently that I really don’t mind doing dishes. . . in fact, I kind of enjoy it, but I HATE putting them away! My husband will offer to wash the dishes after a meal, and I’d rather just do it myself because he never does the put-away part (or if he does, I’m not happy with the way he does it). I’m stopping by from the link-up and checked out your About page. . . I’ve always wanted a goldendoodle!

    • You’re welcome to come visit and do my dishes any day πŸ™‚ yes, we ADORE our Goldendoodle and are actually getting a second one for Christmas! We don’t have kids yet so they’re definitely our spoiled babies πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

