He Touched Me | When we ask for the hand of the Lord

Happy Monday everyone!

I had grand plans of sharing with you today my what I read in September list, but God wrecked that this morning when He met me in my time with Him. I tried to go on with my day but felt the push to share with you a bit.


He Touched Me

There are so many places in the Bible when we see that touching or being touched by Jesus brings great healing. He touched lepers and they were made clean, reached out to touch the blind and they were healed and could see, touched a coffin and a dead man came to life. Even the woman who had been sick for 12 years reached out in faith and touched Jesus and was healed.

I’ve heard sermons on it, read articles on it, and we often pray for it…the hand of God in our life. We pray for him to touch people and situations, we ask him to mold characters and outcomes. We’re very OK with this idea of God touching and shaping our lives, for good.

What about Jacob though?

In Genesis we read about his struggle with the Lord:

Jacob Wrestles with God

The same night he arose and took his two wives, his two
female servants, and his eleven children, and crossed the ford
of the Jabbok. He took them and sent them across the stream, and
everything else that he had. And Jacob was left alone. And a man
wrestled with him until the breaking of the day. When the man saw
that he did not prevail against Jacob, he touched his hip socket,
and Jacob’s hip was put out of joint as he wrestled with him. Then
he said, “Let me go, for the day has broken.” But Jacob said,
“I will not let you go unless you bless me.” And he said to him,
“What is your name?” And he said, “Jacob.” Then he said, “Your
name shall no longer be called Jacob, but Israel, for you have
striven with God and with men, and have prevailed.” Then Jacob
asked him, “Please tell me your name.” But he said, “Why is it that
you ask my name?” And there he blessed him. So Jacob called the
name of the place Peniel, saying, “For I have seen God face to
face, and yet my life has been delivered.” The sun rose upon him
as he passed Penuel, limping because of his hip.

(Genesis 32:22-31 ESV)

Peter Scazzero in His Daily Office Devotional (which I highly recommend, by the way!) shares:

“It was by the brook that Jacob was finally broken by God and radically transformed. He was given a new name and a new freedom to live as God originally intended. This came, however, at a price of a permanent limp that rendered him helpless and desperate to cling to God. And it is out of this weak place of dependence that Jacob became a nation (Israel) in order to bless the world.”

I don’t know about you but when I ask the Lord to touch me I don’t imagine His touch leaving me with a permanent limp.

From our point of view this limp does not look like a good thing. We asked for a healing touch, didn’t we? We asked for more. We asked for cleansing, for sight, for life, and we get a limp. What??

Oh, but in His goodness He’s given us that and so much more.

In our brokenness, our pain, our limping we are radically transformed.

We are cleansed from our pride of thinking we can do life on our own.

We’re given sight to see that we can’t move without Jesus.

We’re given life in that out of our place of injury, like Jacob, we can be used to bless the world.

I’m in a place right now where I feel like the Lord has wounded me. I feel sidelined by a lot of things, like he’s touched my hip and slowed me down, like I can’t move very well.

I often don’t look at my current situation with the eyes to see that God has touched me. He has reached into my life and in love has slowed me down. He is radically transforming me to be dependent on Him alone, and to in time be a blessing to others.

His touch still brings healing. Healing for me looks like having to walk with a limp so that my heart is clean and whole and looking in the right direction.

His touch still brings life.

He touched me. And it is painful. My hip is out of joint and there is real sting to that. There is discomfort. There is still annoyance because it hurts.

But.

There is God there in that pain, and He has in love touched me that I may know Him more and display Him more.

It might not look like good to me, but I can rejoice in the fact that whatever it looks and feels like, that He touched me.


What about you? Do you think about the hand of God bringing not only healing but hurt? Where is God touching you right now? What is your limp, and how is it slowing you down to see the Lord?

Follow me on Bloglovin'

3 thoughts on “He Touched Me | When we ask for the hand of the Lord

  1. I feel you friend! God keeps me humble with those gentle, disciplining touches. When I want to run, I can only walk, but I find that when I do I can hear a lot better. I’d love to say that I’m content with slower times, but I am not! I prayed for you this morning (on a literal walk that I wished could have been a run) and I’m trusting that this time of being touched will be incredibly transformational for you.

  2. Pingback: What I Learned in October | The Cunningham Two

Leave a Reply

