Blog-tember Day 26 | Recent and Future Reads

Saturday, Sept. 26: What’s on your to-read list, and what have you recently read? 

Whew, this is going to be a tough one, guys.  Like a lot of you, I love to read. I think I did all of the reading gushing on Day 14 of the challenge. Suffice it to say, yay books.

My to-read list is well over 75 books and that’s only the ones I’ve written down to try to remember…not all the ones on my Kindle and all the ones I want to read.

Here’s a few in each category of past-present-and future reads.

Past | Recently Read:

The Scent of rain in the Balkans – Gordana Kuic

This is a story of a Bosnian Jewish family living in Sarajevo surviving World War II in the Balkans. It was an interesting read for me because I knew every street they mentioned and every location they went to during the narrative. I think it might be a little boring for those who don’t know the area though, but what do I know?

Peace Like a River – Leif Enger

This novel follows an 11 year old asthmatic boy and his family as they search for his outlaw brother. I really enjoyed Leif’s writing style and how he wrote his dialogues. His characters were very real and honest and witty.

The Martian – Andy Weir

This one is pretty popular these days and will be a movie soon. I really enjoyed this read. The character was hilarious and I found myself wishing he was a real person. I felt like I learned a lot, and kept having to remind myself that this was fiction, but it wasn’t overly scientific or boring. Warning, he does use strong language and innuendos from what I remember.

Past Read

Present | Currently reading

1. Demon– Tosca Lee

Obviousy I’m not finished with this one yet but so far so good. It’s about a demon who visits a publisher and has the guy write his memoirs. He goes through the whole Bible story through the eyes of the fallen angels. Really cool perspective on worship and sin. I think it will be along the lines of Frank Peretti’s This Present Darkness in being theology shaping and mind provoking.

2. Pursuit of a Thirsty Fool– TJ MacLeslie

This is just a guy’s testimony of God meeting him and pursuing him. Ultimately the author and his wife end up moving overseas, starting a family, dealing with some health issues, and learning a lot about God. Not finished yet but it’s alright.

3. One Conversation at a Time – D. Michael Henderson

I literally just started this one yesterday with the ladies on my team. A friend of one of our teammates gifted us all a copy. The premise is that Jesus ministered through intimate exchanges with His disciples and we should follow his example.

Present Reading

Future | What’s up next

Just to name a few:

1. The Ragamuffin Gospel – Brendan Manning

2. The Prydain Chronicles – Lloyd Alexander

3. Connecting – Larry Crabb

4. Simply Tuesday – Emily Freeman

5.The Selection Series – Kiera Cass (Thanks to many of the Blog-tember posts from Day 14 )

6. War and Peace– Tolstoy  (Mostly so I can watch Lily James in the miniseries coming out in 2016)

Forcing myself to stop now. 🙂 Excited to scout out your posts today to add more books to my to-read list!

blogtemberbuttonI’m linking up with the Blog-tember challenge. You can too!

2 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 26 | Recent and Future Reads

Leave a Reply

