Blog-tember Day 21 | Words to live by

Hey all!

So, I slacked over the weekend on blog-tember posts and decided that was ok. We are till trying to unpack our lives and had a church work day out at the farm all day Saturday (in the 105 degree heat…c’mon Fall, be better to me than that!) so we were busy and beat

farm

Painting the outhouse – The cabbage fields

But, onward and forward!

Monday, Sept. 21: A favorite quote/expression and how it has impacted you.

This was another tough one for me. There are so many bible verses, so many song lyrics, so many tattoo ideas to choose from. I settled on the few that I’ve actually taken the time to paint and display in our house. The ideas I have for more are endless, but these must be important to me if I’ve made the effort to get them on our walls.

1.  Adventure is out there!

Adventure is out there Any fellow Up fans out there with me? I could watch that move over and over again. I laugh, I cry, I want to adventure. I think #adventureisoutthere is probably my most used hashtag. Well, that and the dog’s hashtags. Yes, he has two. Yes I hashtag everything. #sorrynotsorry #noshame

I digress.

Early in our marriage, when we had already applied to move to BiH, I asked Craig one day “can we be one of those couples who travel?” He laughed at me asking if I had forgotten what job we just signed up for..and we haven’t stopped moving and adventuring since then.

2. Stay Wild | Never Stop Learning | Eucharisteo

Stay WildAlso on display in our home is this little collage. It hung over our wood stove in our old place and is already up in the kitchen of the new.

Along the lines of Adventure is Out There, Stay Wild and Never Stop Learning remind me to keep some spontaneity and that there are always new things and people out there we can learn and grow from. I never want to stop learning and growing, changing, and becoming.

Eucharisteo is also up there too. All the Ann Voskamp and One Thousand Gift ladies will get me on this one, but I needed a physical reminder to be thankful. In her book Ann explains that Eucharisteo comes from the words that mean joy, grace, and thanksgiving. One of our words for the year is “joy” and we’ve tried to practice naming out loud things that we’re thankful for. But we’re just not that great at remembering to be thankful and so having something I walk by every day as a tangible push to give thanks is necessary and nice.

Now I’m all excited for tomorrow’s prompt where I get creative. Maybe it will include some more words to live by!

blogtemberbuttonI’m linking up with the Blog-tember challenge. You can too!

6 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 21 | Words to live by

  1. YES to “eucharisteo”! That phrase (and every word in that book) helped me reevaluate how I look at each day as a gift rather than allowing worry to creep up and steal the joy that is available each day

    • Yes! I like what you said about worry creeping up…it’s a slow creep and we have to be proactive against it. I didn’t think I would like the book at first and was a little apprehensive…but she just points us to Jesus and it’s great!

Leave a Reply

