Blog-tember Day 17 | Current Obsessions

current obsessions

Thursday, Sept. 17: Just for fun, your latest obsession. What can you not get enough of these days?

This one was a little hard for me to think of. I tend to obsess over whatever I’m currently doing at the time, whatever that might be. I asked Craig what he thought and then looked through all the photos on my camera roll and came to three conclusions:

1. Farm Life
Farm

Photo credit to Dream Haven Photography

When we moved from the bustling capital city of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sarajevo, to Mostar, we had no idea we were moving to the village. Life is so different here. It’s slower, it’s more Mediterranean, and in local language it can only be described as “village life.” Whatever it is, I’m loving it.

Our church has a farm that we go help at a lot and I’ve started calling it my happy place. I follow the guy in charge around like a little duckling just trying to soak up all the knowledge I can. I love adding new things to my list of things I know how to do. This summer I added “learning how to tell when corn is ready” among many other skills to the list.

One of the most rewarding things has been learning to jar, can, and jelly all of the fruits of our labor. I’m becoming a canning fanatic…I want all things Mason jars!!

2. Polish Pottery

Polish pottery

So in our little Protestant ex-pat circle here in Eastern Europe, it’s like a right of passage that as a woman you eventually make the pilgrimage to Boleslaweic, Poland on a Polish Pottery trip.

I’m half Polish and have been obsessing about the pottery for a while now, I knew I would have to go eventually. My teammate and I saved our pennies and birthday money for a while and finally this summer we had a girls trip to Poland. It was a blast and I am SO ready to do it again!

The experience is thoroughly overwhelming and crazy. There are patterns GALORE and you just want to BUY ALL THE THINGS. Or at least I did.

I love that the dishware is durable and can go in the dishwasher and microwave, no problem. I’m about ready to decorate my whole house in it. Which is totally an option, because they have everything you could possibly want in a polish pottery pattern. It’s like Vera Bradley for dishes.

Just writing about this makes me want to go back next weekend for another haul. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. The Crazy Pup

Niko

Of course, looking back over my camera roll it was completely run over by pictures of this dude. If you would have told me a year and a half ago that I would own a dog, let alone love him as much as I did, I would tell you you’ve lost your ever lovin’ mind.

But. Here I am. I’m that person…the one who is obsessed with their dog and worries about them like a mom would a child. You guys, I’m a dog mom. It pains me a little to say that out loud, but the first step is admission, right?

In all seriousness though “Niko the Cowardly Adventurer” has been a great addition to our family. He’s been both a reason to get out of bed in the morning and a reason to stop working and come home in the evenings, and we’re definitely obsessed.


There you have it! I’m sure after I post this I will think of many more current obsessions, but those will just be for a future post.

blogtemberbuttonI’m linking up with the 2015 Blog-Tember Challenge. You can too!

9 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 17 | Current Obsessions

  1. Oh my!! Those dishes are amazing! I want to try my hand at pottery! Aww, your doggie is so cute! It’s amazing how attached you get to them and so quickly too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Blog-tember Day 24 | Favorite follows | The Cunningham Two

Leave a Reply

