Blog-tember Day 16 | Real life vs. Online Life

Wednesday, September 16:Β The real you vs. the online you. Are they the same or different?
While I would love to say that I’m the same person in real life and online, I know that my siblings, spouse, and true friends could tell you it’s probably not so.
I’ve had a problem for a while now about how we, especially as women, feel this pressure to preform or put on a persona with a platform to present to the online world. I even wrote about it here.
In the interest of realness, here is a glimpse of my real life these days as we surprisingly had to pack up, find, and move from one house to another in another country over the span of five days. Whew. That meant I didn’t get to keep up with Blog-tember as I had wanted to, and there were no pictures on Instagram because both houses were a wreck.
moving

Packing up our lives again

IMG_1710

Pupperson visits his new home for the first time

IMG_1714

PIVOT! (anyone??)

IMG_1759

Emptying out the old place

IMG_1762

Saying goodbye to the empty house

IMG_1751

In the interest of realness, the new bedroom is currently ten times more cluttered than this picture I snapped on the first day of moving.

Online: I like to try to pretend I’m artistic and probably don’t share enough of the mundane. I have family, friends, people who support us, students who we work with, churches who partner with us, many different nationalities, and people I haven’t even met with to share with. That often means my posts can be vague or not the full extent of what I’m meaning or feeling….which is probably actually a good thing now that I think about it. πŸ™‚
In real life: I’m a lot crazier. I feel every emotion very strongly and am incapable of hiding it. I have a messy house and a disobedient dog. And I use a lot more emoticons. πŸ˜‰
The differences, where they are, are not all bad or negative though, I do try to honestly convey what we’re dealing with at the moment and share bits of our life with those who want a peek.
I do appreciate the online community that I have been able to build and the blessing of modern technology to be able to keep up with friends and family back home.
Is anyone else humming Brad Paisley’s “I’m so much cooler online??” I’m just going to leave that there for us to close this post. πŸ™‚
blogtemberbuttonI’m linking up with the Blog-tember challenge. You can too!
8 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 16 | Real life vs. Online Life

  1. I was so close to including that Brad Paisley video on my post but, clearly, I opted not to. I’m so glad you did! I am so sorry you had to unwillingly move. I am choosing to move by the end of the month and it’s a struggle enough without somebody else telling me I had to against my will! I hope you are able to settle in quickly!

    • Thanks, Aubrey! Why are you moving? While I hate boxing things up and unpacking *again* I do appreciate the chance to purge things we don’t use and and thankful for God’s gentle reminder that this world is not our home.

Leave a Reply

