Blog-tember Day 14-ish | Impactful Books

Monday, Sept. 14: The 5 books that have impacted your life the most.

Guys, I could not just leave this prompt behind. This was the post I had most looked forward to.

You wouldn’t know it yet from following along here on the blog, but I love to read. My mom taught me how to read when I was just learning to talk and I haven’t stopped since. I really think reading is valuable and that we learn so much by allowing our minds to be taken to other worlds.

My sister and friend and I are even this year working on reading a book a week. So far I’m on track! (Stay tuned after Blog-tember for more on that!).

Anyways. Books. They’re awesome. Reading. It’s amazing.

Choosing only 5 was near impossible, and I even cheated a little…but here goes!

1. Emotionally Healthy Spirituality by Peter Scazzero

Emotionaly Healthy Spirituality

We read this book as a team a few years ago along with Changes that Heal. “You can’t be spiritually mature while remaining emotionally immature.” Sums up the book. I think he does a better job than Boundaries or any books like that to explain how your past and your upbringing don’t just stay in the past, they affect who you are today.

It’s on my “every Christian must read” list as well as our “need re-read every year list.”

I will say that I did read Emotionally Healthy Women by Gary and his wife and was not a fan. It’s too much about boundaries and not doing things you don’t want to do. While I know that might be an issue for some people, I don’t feel that in general we as a culture need more encouragement in that area because we’re pretty natural at it already. Just my two cents.

2. The Rest of God by March Buchanan

The Rest of God

Also on the “every Christian needs to read” and “re-read every year” lists is The Rest of God. We’ve studied this twice with two different groups and God spoke to me each time. Sabbathing is hard for us because it’s a sacrificing of productivity. It’s recognition of a sovereign God and saying “I won’t ‘do‘ today, God, because I know you’re in control and don’t need me to keep things going.” He goes beyond just the command to Sabbath and talks about what real Sabbath is and the importance of finding life giving things to practice.

Good stuff.

3. Shattered Dreams by Larry Crabb

Shattered Dreams This book is a recent addition to the “must read” lists. I just finished it over the summer and am already thinking about digging in again. God really used this book to shape my theology on Him and who He is.

A lot of times we tend to view God as being in a contractual relationship with us…if we do enough good and stay on the “right” track, then He is obligated to bless us. So not what He promised us! How then do we live with the disappointments of shattered dreams and thinking that God hasn’t kept up his end of the “deal?”

I could write so much more on this (I might have to do that later) but will just stop the rambling and say you need to read it.

4. Infernal Devices Trilogy – Cassandra Clare

the-infernal-devices-trilogy

Ok, I thought I would throw in something lighter now and give you my current fiction fave. (I’m proposing a movement where we spell abbreviations like they actually sound. I’m all about abreevs…but hate the way they look when we write them out as the actually abbreviation of the word. Tangent over.)

Infernal devices is a trilogy that goes along with Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments Series. They’re totally “young adult” fiction, but that doesn’t stop me from putting them on my favorites list (Along with Harry Potter and the Divergent series).

I liked this set way better than Mortal Instruments. I gasped and laughed out loud, stayed up way too late reading them, highlighted passages, and even cried. Twice.

5. Let the Nations be Glad! by John Piper

Let the Nations be Glad

This one is an oldie but a goodie and I’m adding it because it played an influential role in my life.

Home for the summer from my freshman year of college I had nothing to do and no one to see and as a result ended up spending a lot of quality time with the Lord. I remember reading this book, listening to Shane and Shane, and journaling one night writing, “God, I feel like you’re preparing me for something big. I’m not sure what it is, but whatever you choose, I’m on board.” I never would have thought then that three years later I would be moved to a different country with a new husband starting a new adventure in a different Nation than my home one.


There you have it! Hopefully with a little diligence I will be sharing more often about current faves and additions to the “must read” lists.

What are your “must reads?” Do we have any in common?

blogtemberbutton

I’m linking up with the 2015 Blog-tember Challenge. You can too!

4 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 14-ish | Impactful Books

  1. The closest we have to anything in common is a John Piper book each… Better than nothing, I guess. His book definitely made for an impactful summer of my own! I am looking forward to seeing what your post Blog-tember book update is!

    • Ok good, now that I said it and someone commented on it I have to do it. I’ve always thought I should be better at sharing and documenting books and wanted to have a “currently reading” tab. Now I have to be accountable to do it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Blog-tember Day 26 | Recent and Future Reads | The Cunningham Two

  3. Pingback: Blog-tember Day 12 | Books Books Books | The Cunningham Two

Leave a Reply

