Blog-tember Day 8 | Ushering in new seasons of life.

Tuesday, Sept. 8: Tell us about your favorite season. Why is it your favorite and what does it say about you?

Growing up in Florida meant I never really experienced seasons because, well, we don’t really have them. The seasons there are hot, hotter, hurricane, and less hot. That’s about all you get. As a kid I dreamed about cold weather. I used to tell my family “if cold weather were a boy I think I would marry him.”

Now, living in a place where there are actually seasonal changes, I adore it. There is something refreshing about the changing of the seasons. Each one brings it’s own new start and something unique. I’m the only person I know who celebrates the first day of each season.

That being said, picking a favorite season is hard. I’d have to say I equally love Fall and Christmas season. (Oh yes, Christmas is a season. Just like my birthday is a holiday 😉 ).

I’m sure I won’t be alone in this, but I will have to say that Fall is currently my favorite season. (Yes, yes, give me my basic white girl card…I am all about Fall and the PSL 😉 ). And not just because we’re 15 days away from the first day of Fall. Oh beautiful Autumn. There’s a crispness in the air you don’t get any other time.

Fall

From Instagram a few days ago: I think my favorite holidays are, in order, Christmas, my birthday, opening day of college football, and the day I declare it Fall (meaning pumpkin everything!) Today, dear folks, happens to be that day! The first pumpkin candle is lit this morning. 🙂

…there’s pumpkin everything

…there’s apple orchards

…there’s mandarin oranges (at least in Herzegovina, the southern region of Bosnia and Herzegovina) it’s mandarin season)

...fresh air that feels good when you breathe it (not too cold, not too muggy)

warm apple cider after adventures to pumpkin patches or hayrides.

Mmmmm yum! I just love the fresh feeling and deliciousness it brings

Pumpkin Muffins

From Instagram yesterday: Dealing with hard news by delving into the sacred stash of canned pumpkin (we don’t have that here) and making myself some pumpkin muffins.

Yesterday we got some tough news that we’ll have to move out of our current house and find a new one. This will be our 11th place in 10 years, the 7th place we’ll live in our 5.5 years of marriage, and our pup’s 4th residence. Ugh.

While we might be “professional movers” now, we had really made this place home and were pretty devastated when we got the word that we’ll have to move our home again.

Now, with the changing of seasons from Summer to Fall, will come another change for our family.

I posted on Instagram and said “What do you do…” when that happens? “If you’re anything like me you cry a little, pray a lot, buy a box of hair dye, and bake yourself some pumpkin muffins.”

We’re trying to remain grateful for all that we have and recognize that each new season brings blessings of its own. This coming season’s blessings just happen to include a fresh new living space, and of course some pumpkin deliciousness.

5 thoughts on “Blog-tember Day 8 | Ushering in new seasons of life.

  1. I love that one of your answers is too buy a box of hair dye! YES! Changing my hair makes me braver, is that just me? Good luck on your move, my little family is the same, we seem to move every 9-12 months… I hate it 😦 Why is finding “The House” so hard? lol I’m also weirdly craving pumpkin muffins now 😉

    • Haha, yes. My hair needs to change with the seasons too! Why not? It’s just hair. Plus I had to get rid of the evidence of the last hair dye extravaganza…I was still half blonde. 🙂 #sorrynotsorry for helping you crave pumpkin muffins, they’re the best! 😉

Leave a Reply

